Botanic Gardens of Adelaide

Story Title: Botanic Gardens of Adelaide
Episode: Four
Date: 27th March 2010
Presenter: Trevor Cochrane

The Botanic Gardens of Adelaide is comprised of three botanic gardens and has served the community of South Australia for more than 140 years.

  • Adelaide Botanic Garden

The garden features glorious green landscapes, avenues of mature trees, wisteria arbors, a Sacred Lotus pond, a unique Victorian Palm House.

  • Mount Lofty Botanic Garden

A spectacular large hills garden on the eastern slopes of Mount Lofty. Several walking trails reveal stunning massed displays of Magnolias, Rhododendrons, Camellias, Lilacs and the richest collection of ferns in Australia under a canopy of stringybarks. Mt Lofty Botanic Garden is also home to the National Species Rose Collection and an oodland Garden.

  • Wittunga Botanic Garden

There are brilliant displays of ericas in Spring, plants from Kangaroo Island and Fleurieu Peninsula, the Sand Plain garden featuring Western Australian wild flowers and shady lawns for lakeside picnics.

Botanic Gardens of Adelaide
North Tce, Adelaide